Warning: session_regenerate_id(): Cannot regenerate session id - headers already sent in /home/customer/www/khowutzun.com/public_html/updates/concrete5.6.3.3/concrete/startup/session.php on line 39

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/customer/www/khowutzun.com/public_html/config/site.php:10) in /home/customer/www/khowutzun.com/public_html/updates/concrete5.6.3.3/concrete/core/libraries/view.php on line 963
Cowichan Community :: Khowutzun Development Corporation




Our Community

The Khowutzun Development Corporation is owned by the Cowichan Tribes, the largest band in BC, with a population of more than 4,600+ community members. The traditional ancestral Cowichan territory includes parts of the lower mainland, through the gulf islands and some points along the east coast of Vancouver island.

Traditional Territory

Cowichan traditional territory is the geographic area occupied by Khowutzun ancestors for community, social, economic and spiritual purposes. Khowutzun have not ceded title to their traditional territory, nor have they been compensated for it.

Khowutzun ancestors - the Hul'qumi'num - travelled widely throughout the Coast Salish territory, fishing, hunting and meeting with their families and neighbours. Each year, the Khowutzun people travelled to, and fished, the Fraser River as far upriver as Yale.

An HBCo employee, John Work, wrote of the existence of a large Cowichan village at the mouth of the Fraser River in December 1824. The area known today as Lulu Island - now the site of Vancouver International Airport - was the Cowichan's traditional base camp, where thousands of Cowichan people harvested Fraser River salmon each summer. Hul'qumi'num place names densely blanket ~ Cowichan traditional territory and reflect the rich history and extensive knowledge of the land and resources owned by the Hul'qumi'num people

Election Regulations

Cowichan Tribes elections are conducted under Section 10 of the Indian Act, as follows:

Tenure of Office Elections

  • Chief and Council hold office for two years:
  • The Council consists of thirteen persons; that is, the Chief and twelve councillors;
  • Elections for Chief and councillors are ordinarily held on the first Monday of December in an odd-numbered year.